Programmes and co-operation in the Nordic countries

Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden and the autonomous territories Faroe Islands, Greenland and Åland co-operate together in the official Nordic cooperation within the Nordic Council of Ministers.

Nordic co-operation within research and innovation is done in particular by the two agencies of the Nordic Council of Ministers:

  • Nordic Innovation Center, NICE - Initiates and funds projects that encourage innovation.
  • NordForsk - Responsible for co-operation in research and research training

An important role of the Nordic societies is to encourage and facilitate co-operation between national R & D funding agencies to cooperate and thereby create greater momentum and avoid duplication. Thereby, the Nordic societies help to strengthen the Nordic region as a prominent research and innovation area.

Bookmark and Share

Read more